Fabric choices part 1: ripstop nylon

I’ve been making the sandwich wraps for a while now and over the months I’ve been experimenting with different fabric for the wipe clean surface and I’ve settled on ripstop nylon.

Why?  What are the other choices?  To be honest, the overriding decision was made on the basis of several evenings in close company with a hot chocolate and Mr Google.  At the end of the day, ripstop nylon is the only food safe option.  The other wipe clean fabrics have pros and cons but when you are putting yours, or your children’s, lunch next to something you need to be sure that there won’t be long term health problems.  I won’t repeat here what I’ve found as others have put it much more eloquently than me but you could also spend an evening with Mr Google and read up on it too.

I like ripstop nylon for other reasons too.  Its very hard wearing and sews beautifully.  A lot of other fabrics have a tendency to tear or are “sticky” to sew.  And it comes in lots of colours which is important to me as my products are beautiful as well as functional.

I need to be honest.  There is one disadvantage.  Because it is breathable and therefore not completely airtight it won’t keep your sandwiches fresh overnight.  But I’m happy to take that one disadvantage given everything else.  What do you think?

Author: Sarah-Kate

Mum. Wife. Textile Artist. Knitter. Runner, I guess, though that feels a bit strong. Friend.

Leave a Reply

