Inspiration

bora-bora-in-french-polynesia

Over the years I’ve wondered about what my job title is and last year I finally came up with, almost jokingly, “textile artist”.  But actually I am an artist, albeit one who works with fabric rather than pencils or paint.  I actually can’t draw for toffee and art was the only exam I failed at school but I am passionate about colour.

The kids and I went to see Disney’s “Moana” this morning and I spent the first third of the film revelling in the brilliant blues of the ocean and how it contrasted with the green of the land.  There was also a recurring image of a conch shell, adding a pink accent.  I don’t know how many other people watch films with the same eyes as me (isn’t it great that we are all different?) but I know it makes me want to go into my craft room and play with fabric.

pink-queen-conch-shells

It also makes me want to move to Polynesia, but that isn’t going to happen anytime soon so in the meantime I may have to look at a few more photographs…

Author: Sarah-Kate

Mum. Wife. Textile Artist. Knitter. Runner, I guess, though that feels a bit strong. Friend.

1 thought on “Inspiration”

Leave a Reply

