Running Joy

parkrun logo

 

You may have worked out by now that I have a family of runners.  I’m not a runner.  I run, but its hard to think of yourself as an actual-bone-fide runner when your kids have been running faster than you since the day they could run in a straight line (the child known as Sporty disguised her talent for a long time because she’d get distracted on the way from the start to the finish).  I run because the family run. I run because my sewing room is in the loft so if I don’t put my trainers on and go out, I don’t see the world.  And I run because I like cake.

We are all huge fans of the parkrun organisation, though, and for those of you who live in the UK, its probably hard to miss it but quoting from http://www.parkrun.org: “parkrun organise free, weekly, 5km timed runs around the world. They are open to everyone, free, and are safe and easy to take part in.”  I love everything about parkrun from the marshalls cheering people on around the course to the stunning scenary that I run past.  Somehow it fits in the OnTheGoDesign ethos of being out and about and appreciating the beauty of our world.

I don’t get to go very often as Saturday mornings are all hands on deck in terms of ensuring that the smaller people get to where they need to be. However, a little window in the diary appeared this morning so Sporty and I headed off to join the 400 or so other people starting their weekend with the lovely endorphin buzz that comes with exercise.

Today,  my endorphin buzz is just a little bit buzzier than normal.  Non-runners look away now as I’m about to get technical.  Everything came together today:  Sporty made me do a proper warm up,  the route was the monthly anti-clockwise one, which I love, the temperature was perfect.  I ran round.  I went through the finishing funnel.  I took my token. And then I checked my Strava (running app):

stravapb

A personal best over 5km and 13 little Strava trophies.  I’m still not the runner that the rest of my family are.  But I’m doing my very best.  And I’ll take that….

Author: Sarah-Kate

Mum. Wife. Textile Artist. Knitter. Runner, I guess, though that feels a bit strong. Friend.

Leave a Reply

