Its not always about the sewing

In fact its quite a lot not about the sewing *heaves a sigh*  This is a shame because I would happily and delightedly sew all day.  However, apparently my merchandise will not sell itself.

As its early days in my business, I’m taking all the help I can get and I’m currently setting myself up for the 100 day challenge that Julia over at The Business Bakery runs.

This is why instead of sitting in my craft room with this view:

P1040383

I actually have this view:

P1040384

Why do it?  I really believe in my products.  I’m not just making the items I do because I like sewing but because I actually do want to my bit towards changing the world.  And creating multi-use items which reduce waste I am combining my two passions of beautiful fabric and saving the planet.  I just need to tell the world that I am doing that, hence blogging, social media and a notebook with a page of actions in it.

The silver lining is that I’ve always quite enjoyed writing and blogging is providing an outlet for utilizing a skill (I think!) that has been dormant since school.  And I’m also reading other blogs and learning more about how to channel my enthusiasm.

However, apparently I should be spending 25% of my time marketing so I suppose I best get on with it….

And if you share my eagerness to make our personal difference to the world, then do hop over to my Etsy shop:

p1040177
OnTheGoDesign
Author: Sarah-Kate

Mum. Wife. Textile Artist. Knitter. Runner, I guess, though that feels a bit strong. Friend.

2 thoughts on “Its not always about the sewing”

Leave a Reply

