Things that make me smile

I confess.  I sent a message on Friday to one of my buddies that said “My motivation is so low this morning I actually briefly considered doing my tax return…..”.  I’m great and all buzzy at the beginning of the week but it all begins to slow down by the end!

As I’ve blogged about before, a one-person small business does involve me doing everything from the bits I hate (social media being the number one by a mile) to the bits I love, which of course would be the sewing.

I worried, when I started sewing for business that I would lose the love.  Mostly I don’t but I do forget to sew for “me” sometimes.  My lovely eldest daughter had bought me some beautiful fabric for Mother’s Day (its in March here in the UK) and I’ve spent several evenings on Pinterest debating what to do with it.  Having had a couple of days investing a lot of time in activities I had to rather than I wanted to I decided to just get on with it.  The kids were in bed, my best beloved otherwise engaged so I switched off social media, switched on the radio and got on with it.

In most areas of my life I’m a bit of an instant gratification girl (it does beg the question how I enjoy knitting but there must be another blog post there) and fortunately, the advantages of sewing for business I don’t have to worry about needing to buy the stuff I need as I have most of it to hand.  51cm of lace?  Yup, I have a stash of that somewhere.  My usual motivation for sewing kicked in: stylish yet practical, and in an evening I managed to knock up a really beautiful laundry bag…

P1040432

Author: Sarah-Kate

Mum. Wife. Textile Artist. Knitter. Runner, I guess, though that feels a bit strong. Friend.

Leave a Reply

